BrainPop (Clever login, all BrainPop platforms)This link opens in a new windowBrainPOP creates animated, curricular content that engages students, supports educators, and bolsters achievement.
Login with G Suite. Teachers: Ask your library media specialist for your code. Students: ask your teacher for the code.
Britannica EscolarThis link opens in a new windowEste portal le ofrece recursos de referencia en español en dos interfaces exclusivas — cada una con una enciclopedia adaptada al lector: Enciclopedia Moderna para adultos y estudiantes y Britannica Escolar Online para estudiantes de 6 a 12 años de edad.
Britannica SchoolThis link opens in a new windowOffers general information at three educational levels: elementary, middle and high.
MackinVIA Ebooks & AudiobooksThis link opens in a new windowFind ebooks and audiobooks on a wide variety of topics. Includes popular fiction. To login, pull-down the menu to your school and enter your school network username and password.
Libraries
Rdale Library catalogs - All schoolsThis link opens in a new windowAccess library catalogs for all schools. Locate print and electronic books across the district including our professional library. Find open educational resources by grade level and subject.
WorldCat (National Libraries)This link opens in a new windowFind items in local, regional and national libraries. Items may be available for inter library loan. Ask you library media specialist.
Extended Learning/Careers and test prep
EdgenuityThis link opens in a new windowCore and elective online courses for credit recovery and differentiated instruction in many subjects. Contract technology integration specialist for account information.
Learning Express LibraryThis link opens in a new windowResources for basic computer and academic skill building, job preparation, and career advancement. Includes interactive tutorials, online books, and test preparation tools for GED, SAT, ACT, TOEFL, and military and occupational exams. Create your own account to track progress.
Streaming Video
Swank Digital Campus (Selected Films)This link opens in a new windowThis platform is a Netflix-like service for streaming Hollywood films to k-12 schools. Each video in this collection has been purchased for a particular course in the district. DO NOT add a link in your course unless the film is a part of your planned curriculum, PLEASE add a link to the specific video, not the entire collection. ASK your media specialist about ordering films.
English - High School
Proquest Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowGlobal newspaper archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune. (Click Publications and search for Star Tribune to limit your search.
TeachingBooksThis link opens in a new windowTeachingBooks provides a wide variety of resources about books and authors including topical lists and information about authors. Features audio and videos of readings and interviews.
Health - High School
Consumer Health CompleteThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Health topics from mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Full-text reports and magazine articles. Content includes images, diagrams, videos, pamphlets, and narrated animations
MedlinePlusThis link opens in a new windowMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
Math - High School
DesmosGraph functions, plot tables of data, evaluate equations, explore transformations, and much more – for free!
Wolfram Alpha (Computational Knowledge Engine)Wolfram|Alpha is a free online computational knowledge engine that generates answers to questions in real time by doing computations on its own internal knowledge base.
Science High School
Science Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Science Reference Center™ is a research database that provides easy access to a full-text science-oriented content including hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.
Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Social Studies - High School
CultureGramsThis link opens in a new windowCultureGrams is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe
Points of View Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of current issues.
ProCon.orgThis link opens in a new windowProCon.org, is a nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.
Proquest Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowGlobal newspaper archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune. (Click Publications and search for Star Tribune to limit your search.
SIRS (Pro/Con Issues)This link opens in a new windowProvides relevant and credible information - for, against, or objective - about a broad range of current issues.
Swank Digital Campus (Selected Films)This link opens in a new windowThis platform is a Netflix-like service for streaming Hollywood films to k-12 schools. Each video in this collection has been purchased for a particular course in the district. DO NOT add a link in your course unless the film is a part of your planned curriculum, PLEASE add a link to the specific video, not the entire collection. ASK your media specialist about ordering films.
Umbra Search African American HistoryThis link opens in a new windowThe University of Minnesota Libraries, in partnership with the Penumbra Theatre Company, is launching Umbra Search African American History, a free and openly available online search tool at www.umbrasearch.org that facilitates broad access to over 400,000 digitized archival materials documenting African American history from more than 1,000 libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions across the United States.
High School Research Tools
College level: Research Databases with magazine and journal articles
Academic Search PremierThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Contains scholarly publications covering all academic disciplines. Includes indexing and abstracts and some full-text articles.
Britannica Academic EditionThis link opens in a new windowEncyclopedia content plus multimedia, timelines, world data analyst, country comparison, and the Britannica blog.
High School level: Research Databases with magazine and journal articles
Explora TeensThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context)This link opens in a new windowAccesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. JSTOR is a digital library for the intellectually curious.
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico.
NoodleToolsThis link opens in a new windowCreate citations, record and organize notes and manage bibliographies.
Online Writing Lab (OWL) PurdueThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material. The site includes guides for research and citations.
Points of View Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowRemote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of current issues.
Proquest Global NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowGlobal newspaper archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune. (Click Publications and search for Star Tribune to limit your search.
SIRS (Pro/Con Issues)This link opens in a new windowProvides relevant and credible information - for, against, or objective - about a broad range of current issues.
If you are required to log in, use these instructions for:
Academic Search Premier
Explora Kids or Teens
Science Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center
Consumer Health
