LibGuides: Sandburg Middle School: Resources

All subjects

BrainPop (Clever login, all BrainPop platforms) This link opens in a new window BrainPOP creates animated, curricular content that engages students, supports educators, and bolsters achievement. Login with G Suite. Teachers: Ask your library media specialist for your code. Students: ask your teacher for the code.
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window Spanish encyclopedia for native Spanish speakers, bilingual students, and students learning Spanish. Features two levels: Primaria for elementary and Secundaria for middle school.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Offers general information at three educational levels: elementary, middle and high.
PebbleGo / PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window Early grades: PebbleGo Animals, Animales (español), Science, Ciencia (español), Biographies, Biografías (español), Social Studies, Estudios Sociales (español), Dinosaurs, & Health, Salud (español). 3rd - 6th grade : PebbleGo Next States, Science, American Indian History, Social Studies, Biographies

eBooks Middle School

MackinVIA Ebooks & Audiobooks This link opens in a new window Find ebooks and audiobooks on a wide variety of topics. Includes popular fiction. To login, pull-down the menu to your school and enter your school network username and password.
Tumble Book Library This link opens in a new window Animated, talking picture books. Kindergarten - Gr. 5. Highlighted text. Some titles in Spanish and French. All Tumblebooks are also available in MackinVia.

Reading Sandburg Middle School

Reading Plus This link opens in a new window Reading Plus is a silent reading intervention that helps students gain proficiency by improving comprehension, reading rate, and vocabulary.

Search for Copyright free Images!

Flickr Creative Commons photo sharing site that has been around for ages and the quantity and quality of photos available is awesome!
Pixabay Image Search Curated high quality images! Hint: right-click on image instead of choosing 'download'. It's just easier.
Photos for Class Free and easy to use. Automatically cites the photos for you! Great for safe image search.

English - Middle School

Explora Teens This link opens in a new window Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281 Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context) This link opens in a new window Accesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window PebbleGo Next is the next step in research for students grades 3-6. Launching with a States and American Indian studies module, PebbleGo Next is carefully aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum objectives. The database is simple to navigate and offers key reading supports such as read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting along with a variety of downloadable, including prompts to inspire critical thinking. States, Science, American Indian History, Social Studies, Biographies.
SIRS (Pro/Con Issues) This link opens in a new window Provides relevant and credible information - for, against, or objective - about a broad range of current issues.
Springboard This link opens in a new window Language arts curriculum textbook and resources. (Students and teachers login using Clever. Other users should contact their building Springboard coordinator for access.)
Swank Digital Campus (Selected Films) This link opens in a new window This platform is a Netflix-like service for streaming Hollywood films to k-12 schools. Each video in this collection has been purchased for a particular course in the district. DO NOT add a link in your course unless the film is a part of your planned curriculum, PLEASE add a link to the specific video, not the entire collection. ASK your media specialist about ordering films.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window TeachingBooks provides a wide variety of resources about books and authors including topical lists and information about authors. Features audio and videos of readings and interviews.

Math - Middle School

Desmos Graph functions, plot tables of data, evaluate equations, explore transformations, and much more – for free!
Wolfram Alpha (Computational Knowledge Engine) Wolfram|Alpha is a free online computational knowledge engine that generates answers to questions in real time by doing computations on its own internal knowledge base.

Science - Middle School

Wolfram Alpha (Computational Knowledge Engine) Wolfram|Alpha is a free online computational knowledge engine that generates answers to questions in real time by doing computations on its own internal knowledge base.

Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context) This link opens in a new window Accesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window PebbleGo Next is the next step in research for students grades 3-6. Launching with a States and American Indian studies module, PebbleGo Next is carefully aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum objectives. The database is simple to navigate and offers key reading supports such as read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting along with a variety of downloadable, including prompts to inspire critical thinking. States, Science, American Indian History, Social Studies, Biographies.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281 Science Reference Center™ is a research database that provides easy access to a full-text science-oriented content including hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

Social Studies Middle School

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise, reliable, and up-to-date cultural information on countries across the globe
Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context) This link opens in a new window Accesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
MNOPEDIA (Minnesota History) This link opens in a new window A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events, and things in Minnesota history.
PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window PebbleGo Next is the next step in research for students grades 3-6. Launching with a States and American Indian studies module, PebbleGo Next is carefully aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum objectives. The database is simple to navigate and offers key reading supports such as read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting along with a variety of downloadable, including prompts to inspire critical thinking. States, Science, American Indian History, Social Studies, Biographies.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281 Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of current issues.
ProCon.org This link opens in a new window ProCon.org, is a nonprofit nonpartisan public charity, provides professionally-researched pro, con, and related information on more than 50 controversial issues from gun control and death penalty to illegal immigration and alternative energy.
Proquest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global newspaper archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune. (Click Publications and search for Star Tribune to limit your search.
Proquest Minneapolis Star Tribune (Archive) This link opens in a new window Find articles from the Minneapolis Star Tribune from 1986 to present.
SIRS (Pro/Con Issues) This link opens in a new window Provides relevant and credible information - for, against, or objective - about a broad range of current issues.

Middle School Research Tools

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window Create citations, record and organize notes and manage bibliographies.

Databases (library search engines)

Explora Teens This link opens in a new window Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281 Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281 Essays on controversial topics that present multiple sides of current issues.
Proquest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window Global newspaper archives stretching back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in full-text format. Includes Minneapolis Star Tribune. (Click Publications and search for Star Tribune to limit your search.
Proquest Minneapolis Star Tribune (Archive) This link opens in a new window Find articles from the Minneapolis Star Tribune from 1986 to present.
Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context) This link opens in a new window Accesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
SIRS (Pro/Con Issues) This link opens in a new window Provides relevant and credible information - for, against, or objective - about a broad range of current issues.
Gale In Context: High School (Student Resources In Context) This link opens in a new window Contains articles, on a very wide range of topics, from newspapers, magazines, journals and reference collections. Includes audio segments.

Databases (Introductory)

PebbleGo Next This link opens in a new window PebbleGo Next is the next step in research for students grades 3-6. Launching with a States and American Indian studies module, PebbleGo Next is carefully aligned to grades 3-6 curriculum objectives. The database is simple to navigate and offers key reading supports such as read-along audio and word-by-word highlighting along with a variety of downloadable, including prompts to inspire critical thinking. States, Science, American Indian History, Social Studies, Biographies.

Practical Tools for life!

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window Resources for basic computer and academic skill building, job preparation, and career advancement. Includes interactive tutorials, online books, and test preparation tools for GED, SAT, ACT, TOEFL, and military and occupational exams. Create your own account to track progress.

Computer Skills Center Interactive training tutorials to develop computer and Internet skills.
Job and Career Accelerator Explore different careers and occupations, find out how to write a resume, or explore different colleges.
Explore Colleges Explore colleges all over the U.S.
Peterson's College Search Find a good college match and get quick facts!