Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MackinVia Ebooks and Audiobooks
Find ebooks and audiobooks on a wide variety of topics. Includes popular fiction. To login, pull-down the menu to your school and enter your school network username and password.
6th Grade Social Studies Research
Databases for Biographies
Minnesota History Research
Minnesota Digital Library Primary Source Sets
These sets are collections on Minnesota topics with both primary and secondary sources for students to use beginning with an overview of the topic. They include: photographs, letters, advertisements, oral histories, postcards, newsletters, papers, speeches, and much more. Teachers can also find a guide for using these in the classroom.
Minnesota Historical Society
Through the library and collections pages, students can find Minnesota topic suggestions, e-Books, television news clips and images. The library website has “History Topics” that will provide a bibliography on different Minnesota related subject. The website also has television and newspaper archives, photo databases, Civil War documents, maps, and medical documents.
Civil War Letters of the Christie Family
Digital images of some of the most interesting letters from the collection are provided here. To browse a list of letters from an author, location or month, please click on any of the links. Typed transcripts have been created to make the letters easier to read.
Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1922)
Contains full-text and article images from the Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1908) and the Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-1922). The newspapers are available through a platform provided by the Minnesota Historical Society in partnership with Minnesota State Library Services.
An online encyclopedia about Minnesota created by the Minnesota Historical Society, MNopedia houses essays and images on topics from the environment to architecture. With each essay is a timeline, bibliography, related resources, images of artifacts and photographs.
MN Digital Library
Images and documents relating to Minnesota’s history.
Try using the search function to find resources for topics like CIVIL WAR, SOD HOUSE, DAKOTA WAR and FUR TRADE ( you don't have to capitalize the words )
MN Military Museum Exhibits
Located in Little Falls, the MN Military Museum also has a library, archival collection, and professional staff to help - potentially with finding interview resources as well.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the nation’s oldest federal cultural institution, and it serves as the research arm of Congress. It is also the largest library in the world, with more than 120 million items. The Library’s website provides access to the catalog and numerous online resources including historic documents, online exhibits, and legislative documents.
Explora Teens This link opens in a new window
Remote username and password Rdale281, Rdale#281
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Gale In Context: Middle School (Research In Context) This link opens in a new window
Accesses numerous encyclopedias on a broad range of topics. Searchable by basic, intermediate or advanced levels of articles.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Offers general information at three educational levels: elementary, middle and high.